Skip to main content
Mrs. LaSonja Harrison
Immediate Past President
Years Served
2022 - 2023

Mrs. LaSonja Fiona Terwissen Harrison, was the 58th President of the Jamaica Teachers’ Association, 2022- 2023 She is the (12th) twelfth female to have ascended to that prestigious position in the 59-year history of this August body.

She will be remembered as the President who fought for “a livable wage for the nations teachers” following the government’s implementation of the Compensation Review.

The nature of her Presidential mandate was people-centred, in its overall thrust towards membership education,

During her tenure, her many speeches, particularly those articulating the need for a Jamaican Philosophy of Education was purpose driven in nature and anchored in Judeo Christian principles.

Harrison, now Principal of St. Faith’s Primary School, was knowledgeable and a well-read classroom teacher of History and Religious Education to have transitioned to the position of the 58th President of the Jamaica Teachers’ Association. Having completed her year as President, Mrs Harrison is now supporting the current President as his IPP.