St. Catherine Cricketers dominate 20/20 to win Errol Miller sponsored Teachers Cricket Competition

Publication Date: 
Tuesday, March 14, 2017

It was a day in which their rivals, Westmoreland the defending champions of 2016 struggled to maintain their usual strong bowling and fielding prowess under  very pleasant afternoon conditions at Ultimate Jerk center playfield in Discovery Bay, St. Ann.


On Friday, March 10 when the umpires called both captains of St Catherine and Westmoreland to decide who will bat first, it was clear who would ultimately take home the trophy.


However with their team bursting with confidence, St. Catherine  having won the toss, took first strike and amassed 169 for 5 off their allotted 20 overs. Kirk Brooks top scored with 58 runs and was followed by former national player Keith Hibbert, 35 not out and Rajiv Chatrie with 23. Best bowler for Westmoreland was Vivian McIntosh with 2 for 18.


In response Westmoreland batsmen went into a fair attack but with excellent fielding and bowling from St. the Catherine cricketers, Westmoreland was restricted to141 for 8 off 20 overs with the main destroyer of the Westmoreland batsmen being Gerald Morgan of St. Catherine with 3 wickets for 19 runs off his 4 overs. He was followed by Michail Powell with 2 for 29 off four.


St Catherine won by 28 runs while Westmoreland also won the competition in 2015.


Errol Miller is a distinguished Past President of the JTA.


2023 Live Stream