Presentation during Golding time

Outstanding teachers to get PM Medal of Appreciation

Publication Date: 
Thursday, June 9, 2016

FORTY teachers, who have contributed significantly to the development of education in Jamaica, will be honoured with the Prime Minister’s Medal of Appreciation.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness will make the presentations during a ceremony scheduled on June 23 at Jamaica House.

Governor-General Sir Patrick Allen and Lady Allen will head the list of dignitaries at the function, which will include Minister of Education, Youth and Information Senator Ruel Reid.

Among this year’s recipients is the permanent secretary in the education ministry, Dr Maurice Smith, who was instrumental in the establishment of the National College for Educational Leadership (NCEL).

The other awardees are Barbara Annette Allen, Geraldine Pamella Allen, Paulette Adassa Battick-Smith, Pauline Andrene Beaumont, Dr Maureen Monica Byfield, Neomi Clarke-Montaque, Mavis Lucille Cohen, Carmen Miranda Creary, Estell Wihelmene Davis-Wright, Fay Cynthia Davy, Doran Evan Dixon, Fay Maureen Dixon, Maureen Clarke Dwyer, Gilzine Rose Fearon, Alvera Melita Ferguson, Jennifer Adina Francis-Guthrie, Mabel Beryl Grandison, Vivette Patricia Grant, Norman Lee Hayles, Claudette Imogene Johnson, Marcia Elaine Lewis-Brown, Esmilda Medora McKenzie, Millard Clive McLeod, Sidannie Eulalee Parris Merchant, Dr Errol Constantine Miller, Raymond Clive Munroe, Dr Maureen Ahara Nelson, Veronica Ione Peart-Johnson, Ivorine Pauline Pitters, Verona Evadney Porteous-Fletcher, Dr Angela Elizabeth Samuels-Harris, Merline Elizabeth Sewell-Sullivan, Dr Heather Angela Smith-Sherwood, Albertha Ionie Staines, Jem Stanley, Cassel Benjamin Stephenson, Joseph Chennamkara Thomas, Beverly Elaine Whyte, and Rev William Berchell Willis.

Instituted in 2005, the Prime Minister’s Medal of Appreciation is given to an educator who has served for a minimum of 15 years; displayed exceptional service in the teaching profession; and has shown evidence of community involvement, innovation and creativity in service.

Award recipients are citizens of Jamaica, but in exceptional circumstances, a non-citizen may be recommended for the honour.



2023 Live Stream