Media Release

Publication Date: 
Wednesday, June 30, 2021

June 29, 2021

Five candidates contested the 2021 JTA President Elect Election held

June 20 - 25, 2021. They were:

  • Lasonja Harrison, Principal, St. Faith’s Primary, St. Catherine.
  • Leighton Johnson, Principal, Muschette High, Trelawny
  • Anthony Kennedy, Teacher, King’s Primary & Infant, Westmoreland
  • Eaton McNamee, Principal, Broadleaf Primary, Manchester
  • Timroy Shaw, Principal, Highgate Primary, St. Mary

A total of 7947 votes were cast in the election, which was held using two modalities; Online and Face  to Face. Each candidate received votes as follows:


LaSonja Harrison

   3,724 votes

Leighton Johnson

   1,343 votes

Anthony Kennedy

      474 votes

Eaton McNamee

  1,319 votes

Timroy Shaw

    721 votes


  • Lasonja Harrison, having secured the highest number of votes in the preliminary count is hereby declared President Elect Designate.

The winner will be officially proclaimed at the 57th  Annual Conference scheduled for August 16 - 18, 2021.  

For further information you may contact :

Leaon Nash

Tele:876 874-8162

Admin Officer, Communication & Public Relations

[email protected]




Live Stream







Latest Member Musings