News

Post date: Monday, November 27, 2017 - 09:04

The General Council Meeting, on Saturday, November 25, 2017, voted unanimously to reject the Government’s current wage offer 6% over two years and indicated that, if there is no improved offer...

Post date: Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 13:46

The Negotiating Team of the Jamaica Teachers’ Association (JTA) met with the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service to resume negotiations today, November 8, 2017.  The Negotiating Team, led...

Post date: Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 08:52

Colleagues:

Happy World Teachers’ Day to you.  

This year, October 5, 2017 is being observed as World Teachers Day. I want to say to my colleagues right across the world and in...

Post date: Friday, August 4, 2017 - 09:30

The Jamaica Teachers’ Association JTA, views as very unfortunate, comments made by the Minister of Education, Senator, the Honourable Ruel Reid, where he named some schools and accused them of...

Post date: Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 11:34

The Jamaica Teachers Association on Tuesday, June 20 handed over a cheque valued at $75,000 to the Pringle Home for Children in Carron Hall, St. Mary.

The money represents part proceeds...

Post date: Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 11:08

The JTA is saddened by the passing of past President Mrs. Fay E. Saunders.

Mrs. Saunders was the first female President and also the first President to have served for two terms in the JTA...

Post date: Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 10:12

It was a day in which their rivals, Westmoreland the defending champions of 2016 struggled to maintain their usual strong bowling and fielding prowess under  very pleasant afternoon conditions at...

Post date: Wednesday, June 15, 2016 - 09:24

                                                                                   

...

Post date: Thursday, June 9, 2016 - 12:53

ADVISORY-

JTA members, please be advised that President Elect Elections will take place, June 20-24, 2016. Parishes will vote on specially...

Post date: Thursday, June 9, 2016 - 11:46

FORTY teachers, who have contributed significantly to the development of education in Jamaica, will be honoured with the Prime Minister’s Medal of...

Pages

Upcoming Events

Thursday, December 14, 2017 - 00:01
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 00:01
Thursday, December 21, 2017 - 00:01
Wednesday, December 27, 2017 - 00:01

Latest Member Musings